About Us

The Holland Symphony Orchestra

The Holland Symphony Orchestra is a semi-professional orchestra with strong ties to the local community. The orchestra began as the Holland Chamber Orchestra in 1989 and was incorporated as a non-profit organization in 1990, performing the first concert that spring under the direction of Gerrit Van Ravenswaay. John Varineau led the orchestra as Music Director from 1992–1996 and Mihai Craioveanu from 1996-2001.

The musical leadership of Morihiko Nakahara from 2001-2007 brought exciting growth to the orchestra and the organization. German-born Johannes Müller-Stosch was appointed in 2007 from a field of 140 candidates following a national search.

In 2000 the Holland Chamber Orchestra formally changed its name to the Holland Symphony Orchestra to communicate more fully the growth of the orchestra. A Board of Directors of 22 members, 100 musicians and substitutes from the greater Holland area and beyond comprise the orchestra.

Concerts include a wide range of experiences for the whole family:

Physical Address

Holland Symphony Orchestra (located at the Midtown Center – parking lot off 16th Street)
96 W. 15th St., Suite 201
Holland, MI 49423

Mailing Address

PO Box 2685
Holland, MI 49422-2685