Upcoming Events

Loading Events

Classics II: The Nature of Music

October 16 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Artist Sponsor:

Saturday, October 16, 2021 at 7:30pm

Concert Hall at the Jack H. Miller Center for Musical Arts, Hope College


Coleridge-Taylor: Hiawatha Suite

Nino Rota: Divertimento Concertante for Double Bass and Orchestra

Beethoven: Symphony No.6 in F major, Op.68 “Pastorale”

Jack Unzicker, bass

Jack Unzicker, Bass

I perform in a wide range of ensembles and styles, from early music to contemporary, solo, chamber music, orchestral, jazz and electric bass.  I perform frequently with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, Fort Worth Symphony, and Dallas Opera, and as the Principal Double Bassist of the Dallas Chamber Symphony, Caminos Del Inka, Santa Fe Pro Musica, and Plano Symphony Orchestra.  I maintain an active performing schedule, over 450 performances since my appointment at UT Arlington in 2012.

In 2018, I was performed Bottesini’s Concerto No. 2 with Gary Lewis and the Midland-Odessa Symphony and Chorale. And in 2016, I was a featured soloist with the Dallas Chamber Symphony, performing my transcription of Hindemith’s Trauermusik. Upcoming projects include a recording for commercial release by Albany Records, of an ongoing duo project. This duo project is in collaboration with Dr. Martha Walvoord, UT Arlington violin professor, and contemporary composers to commission, perform, and record new works for violin and double bass. Composers include six-time Grammy-award winner Michael Daugherty, Andrea Clearfield, Tom Knific, George Chave, and Daniel M. Cavanagh. The duo performed this new repertoire at the International Society of Bassists 2017 Convention in Ithaca, NY on June 10, 2017.

My recent chamber music performances include the Adams Chamber Symphony, Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 1, 2, 3, & 6, Beethoven Septet, Bruch Octet, Ginastera Variaciones Concertantes, Labor Quintet, Prokofiev Quintet, Stravinsky L’Histoire du soldat, and Brahms Sextet in B-flat Major, Svendsen Octet, and Schubert Octet with members of the Dallas Symphony, Dallas Opera, Fort Worth Symphony, Grand Rapids Symphony, and professors from Rice University and the University of North Texas.

As an orchestral musician, I have performed with the Artosphere Festival Orchestra, Dallas Opera, Dallas Symphony, Fort Worth Opera, Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra, Holland Symphony, Waco Symphony, and as principal of the AIMS Festival Orchestra (Austria), Dallas Chamber Orchestra, Lubbock Symphony Orchestra, Orquesta Divertimento (Costa Rica), and Plano Symphony Orchestra. I have worked extensively with conductor Miguel Harth-Bedoya, as well as Jaap Van Zweden, Fabio Luisi, Otto Werner-Mueller, Larry Rachleff, Rossen Milanov, James Conlon, Anshel Brusilow, and Gunther Schuller.

Learn more about the music…

We will be hosting not only the Classical Chat series at Freedom Village, but also Pre-Concert Talks!  Details below:

Classical Chats at Freedom Village:  These informative and fun talks are led by Johannes Müller-Stosch and take place at 3:00pm on the Thursday before each Classics concert.  (Freedom Village, 6th Floor Auditorium, 145 Columbia Ave.)

Pre-Concert Talks:  These talks, led by Johannes Müller-Stosch and Amanda Dykhouse, take place on the evenings of Classics I, II & III in the Jack H. Miller Center concert hall from 6:30-7:00pm.

New to the Symphony?  Check out the Frequently Asked Question page…

Parking Map at the Miller Center

Holland Symphony Orchestra will reserve and monitor Lot 40 for handicapped parking.  The faculty parking lots are available for parking after 5pm

HSO thanks these business partners for their support of this concert!

Share This Event



October 16
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm


Jack H. Miller Center for Musical Arts at Hope College
221 Columbia Ave.
Holland, MI 49423 United States
+ Google Map


Johannes Müller Stosch, Music Director

Board of Directors

Ann Query (Vice Chairman)
Barb McNally
Cathy Bekken
Don Cowie
Greg Bassett
Jan Dalman
Jane Vander Meer
Jean Olney (Chairman)
Johannes Müller Stosch
Juanita Bocanegra
Kay Walvoord (without vote)
Kerrissa Silverthorne
Marcia Forsman
Marcia Westrate
Marilyn Schmidt
Matthew Wiebe
Mike Usher
Paul Ten Elshof
Rayetta Perez
Ruth Crouch
Sarah Bast
Shandra Martinez
Susan Formsma
Tara Leonard
Tim Dyk


Amanda Dykhouse
Brenda Hearn
Jayne Gort
Jennifer Walvoord
Johannes Müller Stosch
Judy Meyers
Kay Walvoord